Independent decision guide

Investor residency and pensionado comparison

A source-linked comparison of selected investor and pension-related residence routes. Official units and pathway boundaries are preserved, while unsupported cells remain plainly unconfirmed.

At a glance

Investor, property-owner, pension, rentier, and independent-means routes use different legal bases. This guide keeps official units and route boundaries intact, shows unconfirmed fields as unknown, and does not calculate a preferred route.

For
People comparing officially documented investor, property, pension, rentier, and independent-means residence routes without a score or recommendation
Written by
LatAm Plan Editorial Team
Edited by
LatAm Plan Editorial Review
Published
Last checked
Review
Official sources checked

Current routes with decision evidence

Official route
Inversionista Calificado
Who it serves
Foreign-source investment through qualifying real estate, Panamanian securities, or a qualifying fixed-term deposit
Current status
active
Authority
Ministerio de Comercio e Industrias / Servicio Nacional de Migración
Last checked
2026-08-08
Generally serves
Foreign investors who can meet one current investment threshold, obtain MICI certification, and complete the separate SNM permanent-residence application.
Financial basis
Current minimums differ by form: B/.300,000 for qualifying real estate or the approved promise-of-sale structures, B/.500,000 for qualifying securities, and B/.750,000 for a qualifying five-year fixed deposit.
Initial status
Direct permanent residence after MICI certification and a separate favorable SNM decision.
Renewal
Permanent residence does not remove the investment-maintenance and annual certification duties. The qualifying commitment must remain supportable for the applicable five-year period.
Family
A spouse or dependent may be included with relationship and responsibility evidence. Decree 193 permits qualifying co-ownership or joint holding among a spouse or dependents when the beneficial-ownership conditions are met. No current per-dependent payment is stated here.
Work rights
No unrestricted local-employment right is inferred from the investment category.
Presence
Current MICI guidance says the investor must visit Panama at least once every two years while maintaining the qualifying investment for five years.
Permanent residence
This is direct permanent residence, but MICI certification verifies the investment layer and does not replace SNM's final migration decision.
Citizenship relationship
Citizenship is separate. No physical-presence waiver or guaranteed nationality timeline is published from the controlling sources.
Official route
Jubilado Pensionado
Who it serves
Qualifying lifetime pension
Current status
active
Authority
Servicio Nacional de Migración
Last checked
2026-08-07
Generally serves
Retirees and pension recipients able to prove a lifetime pension and the route’s identity, background, health, and pension evidence.
Financial basis
A lifetime pension of at least B/.1,000 per month; or at least B/.750 with personally owned Panama property worth more than B/.100,000. Each included dependent requires B/.250 per month in additional support under the stated branch.
Initial status
An indefinite residence permit under the Jubilado Pensionado category.
Renewal
The official checklist states that no extension is required for this indefinite permit. Identity-document and registration maintenance remain separate administrative matters.
Family
A spouse and qualifying dependent children may be included with the required support and relationship evidence. Inclusion and approval are not automatic; children generally receive temporary dependent treatment until age 25 while studying full time, subject to the checklist’s disability exception.
Work rights
The pension basis does not establish unrestricted local employment or professional rights on this page.
Presence
The cited checklist does not establish one route-specific physical-presence rule.
Permanent residence
The authority describes an indefinite permit. This page does not relabel it or infer an automatic separate permanent-residence or nationality result.
Citizenship relationship
Naturalization is a separate constitutional and administrative process and is not established by this permit.
Official route
Inversionistas
Who it serves
Qualifying investment
Current status
active
Generally serves
Applicants making an investment within a currently accepted asset or project class.
Financial basis
USD 150,000 qualifying investment.
Initial status
Temporary residence.
Renewal
The investment and route conditions must remain supportable under the current rules.
Family
Confirm the current dependent checklist with the migration authority.
Work rights
No general employment right is inferred from the investment category.
Presence
Residence and naturalization use separate continuity rules.
Permanent residence
Permanent residence is a separate later application when a statutory basis is met.
Citizenship relationship
No automatic citizenship result follows from the investment route.
Official route
Pensionados
Who it serves
Stable qualifying pension
Current status
active
Generally serves
Applicants who can document a qualifying permanent foreign pension.
Financial basis
USD 1,000 per month in qualifying foreign pension income.
Initial status
Temporary residence.
Renewal
Temporary residence may be renewed when the route conditions and current renewal requirements continue to be met.
Family
The statute permits dependents to be included for migration purposes without stating an additional income increment in Article 81.
Work rights
This page does not infer employment authorization from pensioner status.
Presence
Residence and naturalization use separate continuity rules.
Permanent residence
Permanent residence is a separate later application when a statutory basis is met.
Citizenship relationship
Naturalization periods depend on nationality and official residence.
Official route
Rentistas
Who it serves
Stable qualifying rent or income
Current status
active
Generally serves
Applicants able to document stable, permanent qualifying rent or income.
Financial basis
USD 2,500 per month in qualifying stable income.
Initial status
Temporary residence.
Renewal
Current route conditions and the renewal checklist must continue to be satisfied.
Family
Article 82 states that the amount covers the applicant, spouse, children under 25, and older children with disabilities.
Work rights
This page does not infer employment authorization from rentier status.
Presence
Residence and naturalization use separate continuity rules.
Permanent residence
Permanent residence is a separate later application when a statutory basis is met.
Citizenship relationship
Naturalization periods depend on nationality and official residence.
Official route
Visa de residente temporal en calidad de inversionista
Who it serves
Qualifying investment
Current status
active
Official route
Visa de residente temporal por bienes inmuebles
Who it serves
Personal ownership of Mexican real estate above the current consular threshold
Current status
active
Authority
Secretaría de Relaciones Exteriores through the competent Mexican consulate
Last checked
2026-08-07
Generally serves
Applicants able to document title to qualifying Mexican property and apply through the competent Mexican consulate.
Financial basis
Mexican real estate valued above 91,710 daily UMA under consistent current consular guidance. The generic federal page retains legacy minimum-wage wording, so this guide uses the current UMA unit and no converted amount.
Initial status
A temporary-resident visa for a stay longer than 180 days and up to four years, followed by the separate resident-card exchange after entry.
Renewal
The cited property guidance does not establish an automatic renewal or a universal initial card duration. Confirm the card term and renewal evidence with INM.
Family
No automatic dependent entitlement or route-specific financial increment is modeled from the cited property-owner sources.
Work rights
Property ownership does not itself establish permission for local remuneration. A separate authorization or visa condition may be required.
Presence
No property-route-specific minimum physical-presence rule is stated in the cited sources.
Permanent residence
Permanent residence is a separate status under Mexican migration law; property-owner temporary residence does not convert automatically.
Citizenship relationship
Naturalization is a separate legal process and is not established by this visa.
Official route
Residencia Permanente para Inversionistas Extranjeros (SUACE)
Who it serves
Qualifying foreign investment under the SUACE route
Current status
active
Authority
Dirección Nacional de Migraciones, with the investor certificate issued through MIC/SUACE
Last checked
2026-08-05
Generally serves
Foreign individual investors using a current Investor Pass modality and able to document both the investment basis and the immigration requirements. SUACE participation or company formation alone does not establish eligibility.
Financial basis
Resolution MIC 0283/2026 describes four modalities rather than one universal threshold: productive industry, commerce, or services from USD 70,000 with a business plan and at least five formal jobs; financial instruments from USD 200,000 maintained for at least two years; business-use real estate from USD 200,000; and tourism investment from USD 150,000 with a business plan. The applicant must follow the evidence rules for the selected modality.
Initial status
Permanent residence. The DNM describes the residence card as definitive and requires the card to be renewed every ten years.
Renewal
Renew the permanent-residence card every ten years under the current DNM card-renewal procedure.
Family
No route-specific dependent conclusion is stated here. A family member must qualify under the procedure applicable to that person.
Work rights
The sources support investment and business-establishment use of the route but do not establish unrestricted employment rights, so no broader work-rights claim is made.
Presence
No route-specific physical-presence maintenance rule is stated in the cited package.
Permanent residence
This is a direct permanent-residence procedure; the current DNM and MIC material does not require the investor first to hold ordinary temporary residence.
Citizenship relationship
Citizenship is a separate legal process. This route does not itself establish citizenship eligibility or a guaranteed timeline.
Official route
Visa M Inversionista
Who it serves
Qualifying investment
Current status
active
Authority
Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores
Last checked
2026-08-07
Generally serves
Applicants able to document the applicable investment branch in their own name and maintain it for later applications.
Financial basis
More than 650 SMLMV for the direct foreign-investment branch, or at least 350 SMLMV for the qualifying property branch. SMLMV is an indexed Colombian unit, so no USD conversion is presented.
Initial status
Migrant (M) investor visa, valid for up to three years under the current resolution.
Renewal
A later application must prove that the qualifying investment or property investment was maintained. Renewal remains a separate decision and is not guaranteed.
Family
A qualifying family member may use the separately administered beneficiary-visa procedure. Investor status does not automatically grant dependent status.
Work rights
The investor basis does not establish unrestricted local work rights, and this guide does not infer them.
Presence
The cited route packet does not establish a route-specific absence rule for maintaining this visa.
Permanent residence
Five accumulated years in the qualifying M investor category may support a separate Resident (R) application. Time alone does not guarantee approval.
Citizenship relationship
Citizenship is a separate process and is not established by this investor route.

The fixed three-column example uses Panama Qualified Investor, Costa Rica Pensioner, and Paraguay SUACE. The full frozen comparison guide now has all five decision-evidence categories for Panama, Costa Rica, Mexico, Paraguay, Colombia, Belize, the Dominican Republic, Uruguay, and Ecuador. Route-specific unknowns remain unconfirmed rather than becoming negative findings.

Panama

Current evidence

banking evidence

Panamanian banks apply customer-identification and due-diligence controls and may set their own supporting-document requirements. Residence or an immigration investment does not by itself guarantee that a bank will open an account.

  • The regulator agreement describes the compliance framework, not a universal bank checklist or approval promise.
  • Product availability, remote onboarding, minimum balances, and review times remain bank-specific.

Sources

Current evidence

costs evidence

Current SNM provisional forms for the real-estate, fixed-deposit, and mixed economic-solvency routes list certified checks of B/.250 to the National Treasury and B/.800 to SNM. This does not establish Qualified Investor, pensioner, retired-rentier, professional, property, banking, or relocation costs.

1050 PAB · form-listed certified checks for a provisional economic-solvency application · As of 2026-08-17

  • The structured amount reports only what these three provisional-route forms list; it is not a consolidated or universal government fee schedule.
  • Qualified Investor, pensioner, retired-rentier, professional, translation, authentication, banking, property, travel, housing, dependent, and relocation costs are excluded.
  • Applicants must confirm the live route, current form, and payment instructions before filing.

Sources

Current evidence

property evidence

Property can support either the Qualified Investor program or a separate economic-solvency permit only when that route's own ownership, value, funding, title, and maintenance evidence is met. Owning property alone is not treated as a universal residence basis.

  • The Qualified Investor and economic-solvency categories are separate legal routes with different evidence and status mechanics.
  • This record does not assess title quality, financing, taxes, zoning, or a specific purchase.

Sources

Current evidence

relocation evidence

Each route has its own official document checklist. Identity, police-record, health, sworn-background, investment or income evidence, and dependent records must be matched to the selected route; one route's checklist cannot be reused as proof for another.

  • The authority can update forms and filing instructions.
  • No processing-time estimate, approval result, work permission, or citizenship outcome is asserted.

Sources

Current evidence

tax residence evidence

Panamanian immigration status and tax residence are separate questions. The tax authority describes more than 183 days in Panama in the same fiscal year or the immediately preceding year as one natural-person tax-residence rule, alongside separate residence or habitual-abode analysis.

  • This is not a personal tax-residence determination.
  • Treaties, habitual abode, foreign residence, income source, and certificate evidence can change the analysis.

Sources

Costa Rica

Current evidence

banking evidence

Costa Rica's financial-sector rules require customer identification, beneficial-ownership information, economic-activity information, and risk-based origin-of-funds review. They do not guarantee an account, product, minimum balance, or opening timeline for a residence applicant.

  • The regulation supplies a compliance framework rather than one universal bank checklist.
  • Account approval, products, balances, transfers, remote onboarding, and timing remain institution-specific.

Sources

  • CONASSIF 12-21Consejo Nacional de Supervisión del Sistema Financiero / SUGEF · Last checked 2026-08-17

Current evidence

costs evidence

Costa Rica's immigration framework lists a USD 50 first residence-application payment. It is only one component: document issuance, annual migration-fund, guarantee, authentication, translation, and route-specific charges require separate confirmation.

50 USD · first residence application · As of 2026-08-17

  • No complete filing or relocation total is presented.
  • Guarantee deposits and some document charges are variable or case-specific.
  • Current collection and exchange-rate instructions must be confirmed before payment.

Sources

Current evidence

property evidence

Registered Costa Rican property can support the investor route only when the qualifying investment threshold and route-specific title, ownership, valuation, tax, and maintenance evidence are met. Property ownership is not a substitute for rentier income or a lifetime pension.

  • No individual title, cadastral record, municipal value, tax status, concession, coastal restriction, ownership vehicle, or transaction is reviewed.
  • The investment must remain supportable at renewal; no appreciation or resale outcome is inferred.

Sources

Current evidence

relocation evidence

Residence preparation requires common identity and civil-status records plus route-specific financial evidence. Foreign public documents must follow the applicable apostille or legalization process, and non-Spanish documents require the applicable Spanish translation.

  • Filing channel, appointments, document handling, local charges, and platform availability require current confirmation.
  • No practical processing time, cost-of-living budget, bank approval, work result, or permanent-status result is asserted.

Sources

Current evidence

tax residence evidence

Investor, rentier, or pensioner immigration status does not by itself determine Costa Rican tax residence. Current tax rules and administration guidance identify more than 183 days in the relevant fiscal period as a key natural-person criterion, subject to the complete facts and any applicable treaty.

  • This is not a personal tax-residence, filing, exemption, or treaty analysis.
  • Current Law 9996 incentive treatment was not confirmed and is not stated.

Sources

Mexico

Current evidence

banking evidence

Mexico's Migration Regulation contemplates bank-account access for foreign nationals with regular immigration status, subject to applicable law. It does not require a bank to approve an account, a product, or remote onboarding.

  • The reviewed official sources do not establish one universal foreign-customer checklist.
  • Individual banks retain compliance, product, and acceptance controls.

Sources

Current evidence

costs evidence

The central Mexican consular portal lists a USD 56 temporary-residence visa application fee. The later in-country resident-card process has separate charges, so USD 56 is not a complete residence budget.

56 USD · temporary-residence visa application · As of 2026-08-17

  • The fee does not guarantee approval and a consular post can prescribe its payment method.
  • Resident-card, trust, notary, registry, translation, apostille, travel, housing, and professional costs are excluded.

Sources

Current evidence

property evidence

Mexico's property-owner temporary-residence basis and its restricted-zone property rules are separate. Current consular guidance asks for ownership evidence above its UMA threshold, while restricted-zone residential rights may use a bank-administered trust; trust rights are not represented here as direct ownership or automatic visa evidence.

  • The consular checklist is post-specific and does not establish practice at every consular post.
  • Whether a trust beneficiary interest satisfies an initial property-owner visa filing was not established and is not claimed.
  • No title, trust, financing, zoning, tax, or transaction review is provided.

Sources

Current evidence

relocation evidence

A temporary-residence case starts with the competent Mexican consulate and continues after entry with a separate resident-card exchange before the National Migration Institute. Appointment, interview, biometric, entry, and card steps should be planned as distinct stages.

  • Appointment availability and end-to-end duration are not estimated.
  • Document, translation, legalization, payment, and interview practices can vary by consular post and route.

Sources

Current evidence

tax residence evidence

Mexican immigration residence and tax residence are separate classifications. The Federal Tax Code uses a home in Mexico and, when homes exist in more than one country, center-of-vital-interests factors including income source and principal professional activity.

  • This is not an individual tax-residence or treaty analysis.
  • An immigration card, property, bank account, or tax registration does not by itself settle the tax-residence test.

Sources

Paraguay

Current evidence

banking evidence

The financial-investment certificate modality requires at least USD 200,000 held for two years through an entity authorized by the Central Bank securities regulator. This is an investment condition, not a promise that any bank or intermediary will accept an applicant.

200000 to Unknown USD · qualifying financial investment held for two years · As of 2026-08-17

  • The sources do not establish universal account-opening documents, acceptance, products, remote onboarding, or timing.
  • Financial-intermediary compliance and product decisions remain separate from immigration.

Sources

Current evidence

costs evidence

The immigration authority lists a cash government fee of PYG 2,926,925 for permanent residence from 1 July 2026. Card payment totals differ, and radicación and later card-renewal fees are separate.

2926925 PYG · cash permanent-residence government fee · As of 2026-08-17

  • This value excludes radicación, card renewal, translations, apostilles, professional services, banking, travel, and investment costs.
  • Payment method changes the official total; applicants should confirm the current schedule before filing.

Sources

Current evidence

property evidence

The current foreign-investor certificate framework includes a business-use real-estate modality of at least USD 200,000, with at least 30% paid. The official declaration excludes property intended for personal or family use.

200000 to Unknown USD · business-use real-estate investment · As of 2026-08-17

  • Property ownership for personal or family use is not presented as a residence basis.
  • Title, valuation, registration, financing, and transaction due diligence require separate review.

Sources

Current evidence

relocation evidence

The SUACE permanent-residence checklist calls for identity, entry, civil-status and criminal records, Interpol documentation, declarations, and the foreign-investor certificate. Foreign documents may require apostille or legalization and Spanish translation.

  • The Ministry describes up to five days for the investor certificate only; no residence-processing time is inferred.
  • Family derivatives, unrestricted work rights, and a minimum annual day count were not established in the controlling sources reviewed.

Sources

Current evidence

tax residence evidence

Paraguay tax authorities provide a separate procedure for obtaining a tax-residence certificate. The reviewed material does not establish that SUACE permanent residence automatically creates tax residence.

  • One DNIT guidance chain refers to older migration-law terminology; this guide does not use it to equate immigration and tax residence.
  • Individual tax status, treaty use, filing duties, and certificate eligibility require current tax analysis.

Sources

Colombia

Current evidence

banking evidence

Colombian supervised financial institutions apply customer knowledge, beneficial-owner, source-of-funds, and risk controls. Visa or investment evidence does not guarantee an account, a product, remote onboarding, or an approval timeline.

  • The reviewed official sources do not provide one universal checklist for foreign customers.
  • Institution-specific compliance, commercial, and product requirements remain separate from visa eligibility.

Sources

Current evidence

costs evidence

The 2026 foreign-affairs fee resolution lists USD 56 for study and USD 204 for issuance of a Migrant visa, for a combined USD 260 before any separately applicable stamp tax or other charges.

260 USD · Migrant visa study plus issuance fees · As of 2026-08-17

  • This value excludes stamp tax where applicable, foreigner identity card fees, translations, apostilles, professional services, travel, banking, and investment costs.
  • Payment currency, exchange handling, and the current fee table should be checked at filing.

Sources

Current evidence

property evidence

Colombia’s Migrant Investor visa can use direct foreign investment above 650 SMLMV or real property exclusively owned by the applicant worth at least 350 SMLMV, supported by foreign-investment registration and property evidence.

350 to Unknown · SMLMV for exclusively owned real property · As of 2026-08-17

  • The SMLMV amount changes over time; no fixed COP conversion is used as a durable threshold.
  • Joint ownership, company-held property, trusts, valuation, title, financing, and transaction due diligence are not inferred.

Sources

Current evidence

relocation evidence

Visa applications use the foreign-affairs online process and route-specific evidence. A visa valid for more than three months generally requires foreigner identity-card registration within 15 calendar days of entry or visa issuance in Colombia.

  • The authority’s identity-card delivery estimate is not a guarantee and is not a visa-processing estimate.
  • Beneficiary visas, work authorization, permanent-residence eligibility, and status maintenance remain route-specific and nonautomatic.

Sources

Current evidence

tax residence evidence

Colombia’s general individual tax-residence test includes more than 183 calendar days in any consecutive 365-day period, alongside separate rules and exceptions. Immigration residence and tax residence are not treated as equivalent.

  • Day counting, family or economic tests, exceptions, treaty position, filing, and foreign-asset obligations need individual tax analysis.
  • This record does not infer tax residence from a visa, property purchase, company interest, or professional activity.

Sources

Belize

Current evidence

banking evidence

Belize routes use different financial evidence. QRP guidance calls for income and bank evidence, a local-deposit undertaking, and annual local-bank evidence; temporary residence may use bank statements as investment evidence. These requirements do not guarantee an account or product.

  • No bank acceptance, account opening, minimum balance, product availability, exchange-control result, remote onboarding, or timing is promised.
  • The QRP local-deposit undertaking is not presented as a foreign-currency account.

Sources

Current evidence

costs evidence

Official pages publish route-specific components rather than a complete budget. The current BTB page lists QRP application, final applicant, dependent, and card fees; Immigration publishes a nationality-based permanent-residence schedule and describes temporary residence as one-fifth of the applicable permanent-residence fee.

  • The immigration schedule is labeled effective from 2020 and must be reconfirmed before payment.
  • The disputed QRP renewal figure and property, legal, medical, police, banking, bond, travel, and insurance costs are omitted.
  • The components are not combined into a total.

Sources

Current evidence

property evidence

Belize gives property different route-specific roles. A property title and property-tax assessment may support temporary-residence evidence, while QRP law permits land for home construction or a home for residential use. Ownership alone is not established as residence or tax-residence eligibility.

  • No current property-transfer, stamp-duty, valuation, title, financing, or closing-cost conclusion is made.
  • Property evidence remains subject to route-specific review and is not treated as a general path to permanent residence.

Sources

Current evidence

relocation evidence

Belize processes are route-specific. QRP requires annual card renewal and 30 consecutive days in Belize per program year. Temporary residence is initially one year and renewable. Permanent residence requires at least one year of lawful residence with no more than 14 total days absent during that year.

QRP: 30 consecutive days each program year; permanent-residence prerequisite: one year lawful residence with no more than 14 total days absent

  • Operational intervals are not approval or processing-time guarantees.
  • No automatic QRP-to-permanent, temporary-to-permanent, family, work, citizenship, or complete moving-cost result is established.

Sources

Current evidence

tax residence evidence

Immigration residence and tax treatment are separate. Belize’s 2024 tax amendment gives a qualified retired person residing in Belize an optional Belize tax election for all or part of UK-source pension income; it is not a universal tax-residence determination.

Optional UK-source pension election: 2% of gross income above GBP 3,500 or equivalent for the specific tax period

  • The election is QRP-specific and does not establish tax treatment for temporary or permanent residence.
  • Foreign tax obligations, treaty residence, non-UK income, domicile, filing, and personal tax results remain outside this guide.

Sources

Dominican Republic

Current evidence

banking evidence

Dominican financial institutions apply risk-based customer due diligence, including identification and source-of-funds information, with documentation that can differ for foreign residents and nonresidents. A visa, residence card, investment, pension, or property purchase does not guarantee an account.

  • No universal checklist, account approval, minimum balance, transfer rule, remote onboarding, product, or timing is established.
  • A route-specific bank letter is not a general bank-acceptance rule.

Sources

Current evidence

costs evidence

Official pages publish route-specific fee components, not one universal total. DGM pages list filing, medical, card or certificate, and investment-file components that differ by route, while MIREX separately lists the applicable residence or business visa charges.

  • Displayed components are not combined into a total and labels do not fully reconcile with the tariff resolution.
  • Translation, apostille, legalization, insurance, medical, professional, property, travel, banking, and housing costs remain separate.

Sources

Current evidence

property evidence

Buying or owning Dominican property is not established as a standalone basis for the four frozen routes. The investor service instead requires qualifying foreign investment certified by ProDominicana or CNZFE. Title, encumbrance, and property-tax matters use separate authorities.

  • No property, valuation, title, financing, company, trust, transaction, tax-relief, or individual residence result is reviewed.
  • Property ownership is not treated as equivalent to residence eligibility.

Sources

Current evidence

relocation evidence

Relocation is route-specific. MIREX identifies RS residence visas for investors, pensioners, and rentiers and NM1 labor or business steps for management and technical personnel. DGM then uses route-specific originals, translation, legalization or apostille, medical, and in-person steps.

  • Visa requirements do not guarantee approval and no universal end-to-end timeline is asserted.
  • Family approval, work outside the approved basis, tax residence, long-term status, citizenship, housing, and travel remain separate.

Sources

Current evidence

tax residence evidence

Dominican immigration status and fiscal residence are separate. DGII administers a distinct fiscal-residence certificate and related taxpayer and migration evidence. The reviewed sources do not support treating a frozen route, property, or bank account as automatic tax residence.

  • No numeric day threshold is promoted because current official materials reviewed do not align cleanly.
  • No personal filing, treaty, exemption, source-of-income, domicile, economic-tie, or tax result is inferred.

Sources

Uruguay

Current evidence

banking evidence

Banco Central consumer guidance describes account onboarding as involving identification, address, professional or business activity, source-of-funds information, and other customer-knowledge documentation. Product terms and acceptance remain institution-specific.

  • The official pages returned 502 on the final direct check; only narrow regulator context is retained.
  • No residence, property, nonresident status, account, product, fee, remote onboarding, or timing result is promised.

Sources

Current evidence

costs evidence

Uruguay’s official residence pages and migration FAQ package the residence and migration-certificate charges differently. This guide therefore publishes no combined residence amount and directs readers to confirm the live payment screen before filing.

  • UI values adjust and the certificate packaging is unresolved.
  • No currency conversion, combined fee, property, translation, notarial, health, travel, banking, shipping, or living-cost estimate is published.

Sources

Current evidence

property evidence

Uruguay’s reviewed immigration procedures do not identify property purchase as a residence basis. Property sale, promise-of-sale, and mortgage registration use a separate property-registry process, while property-related fiscal-residence tests are separate tax rules.

  • No foreign-ownership, title, valuation, financing, transaction, immigration, fiscal-residence, or bank-acceptance result is inferred from property.

Sources

Current evidence

relocation evidence

DNM residence procedures use identity and supporting records, originals, and apostille, legalization, or translation where applicable. Aduanas separately provides a conditional procedure for eligible permanent settlers to import specified personal, household, and professional goods without customs duty.

  • The customs procedure is conditional and not automatically available to every frozen route or applicant.
  • No approval, processing time, family result, moving, shipping, housing, education, healthcare, or total-cost estimate is supported.

Sources

Current evidence

tax residence evidence

Uruguay fiscal residence is separate from immigration residence. DGI lists distinct physical-presence, vital-interest, main-activity, and specified economic-interest tests and administers a separate fiscal-residence certificate.

DGI tests include more than 183 days in a calendar year and separate vital, activity, and economic-interest criteria

  • No UI conversion, personal test, holding-period result, treaty position, filing conclusion, or tax result is made.
  • Property ownership is not treated as immigration residence.

Sources

Ecuador

Current evidence

banking evidence

Ecuadorian financial institutions apply risk-based customer and source-of-funds controls. If due diligence cannot be completed, an institution may refuse an account or transaction. A visa, property, investment, pension, or rentier income does not guarantee account approval.

  • No universal foreign-customer checklist, minimum balance, transfer guarantee, credit, product, remote onboarding, acceptance, or timing rule was found.

Sources

Current evidence

costs evidence

The current 2026 eVisa guide requires a USD 50 application payment when the application is submitted. The category-specific grant fee, cedulation charge, and complete relocation cost remain unresolved and are not stated as fixed values.

50 USD · current eVisa application payment; excludes grant, cedulation, and other costs · As of 2026-08-17

  • Older route procedures and tariff material do not cleanly establish the current category-specific grant amount.
  • No grant, cedulation, insurance, document, property, banking, travel, professional, or total-cost value is inferred.

Sources

Current evidence

property evidence

Ecuadorian real property is one qualifying branch of investor temporary residence. The applicant’s qualifying ownership share must meet the official threshold, the property must be registered, and the required non-transfer notation applies while the visa remains valid.

100 to Unknown · current SBU for the applicant's qualifying ownership share · As of 2026-08-17

  • Property ownership alone is not a residence guarantee.
  • No dollar conversion, valuation, financing, foreign-ownership, canton-specific fee, tax, or acquisition-cost result is established.

Sources

Current evidence

relocation evidence

Applications use the current MREMH eVisa process with identity, background, lawful-means, and route-specific evidence. Foreign public documents may require apostille or legalization and Spanish translation. Permanent residence is a separate later application and is not automatic.

Temporary residence may be granted for up to two years; permanent residence is a separate application

  • Older route procedures describe older filing flows; current eVisa guidance controls mechanics where they differ.
  • No approval, processing time, automatic family, unrestricted work, automatic renewal, exact registry-certificate format, or citizenship result is established.

Sources

Current evidence

tax residence evidence

Ecuador tax residence is determined separately from immigration residence under SRI rules, including physical-presence tests and separate economic-interest and family-connection criteria. A temporary visa, property, pension, or rentier basis does not itself establish tax residence.

  • The disputed sporadic-absence detail is omitted.
  • No day-count calculation, individual tax conclusion, treaty result, income classification, filing duty, certificate outcome, or tax liability is provided.

Sources

Official route sources

Corrections and changes

  • Prepared the initial source-linked guide with official citations and explicit limitations.
  • Added the four remaining jurisdictions and refreshed the release-pinned comparison evidence.
  • Reconciled country, pathway, guide, Finder, Calculator, Comparison, and source links across the complete Program 1 cohort.

This guide is general information, not legal or tax advice. Requirements and their application can change.

Report an error